Beginnings

First blog post.

Uh….. (long awkward pause) ……..

I was thinking about what to call the blog. What’s it going to be about? I have some general thoughts, but really, I’d just like it to evolve. I don’t want it to become about any one thing, at least for now.

I played around with several names. Life Cycle. Life in the Queue. Oven Fresh Grooviness. It was taking too long so I finally just decided on The Ausbury Blog for now.

I’m hopeful that this will be a place where my friends and family will share as well. I’m looking forward to some good discussions.

So on this first post, I’ll leave you with something from my first of many musical mentions and recommendations, a lyric from Edwin’s song Alive from Another Trip Around The Sun:

It feels so good to breathe the air
Another spin around the sun
On this spec of life in the universe
The gift of love is there for everyone

About

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Posted in Uncategorized
9 comments on “Beginnings
  1. Erin says:

    Hey there!! What a great idea!! I’m looking forward to reading your posts and seeing what others have to say about it.
    Awesome quote, by the way. Here’s to some good chatting.

  2. Doug says:

    Thanks Erin! Can you let me know if you receive an email notification about my comment?

  3. Steve says:

    steve’s groovy comment here

  4. LynDel says:

    Uh……(long ackward pause……)

    You missed the OBVIOUS name for your blog ~

    THE LOFT!

    DUH??!!!

    Or, could be “THE DUD!” But we like THE LOFT better.

    Looking forward to many many good conversations. Just my thing.

  5. Doug says:

    Thanks for the name suggestions LynDel. I think you need your own blog too! I would insist it be called “The Smeller’s The Feller”.

  6. LynDel says:

    Ha ha ~ Yeah, since that’s the only thing I ever said that actually made it to the “The Loft” that would be appropriate…..

  7. Laura says:

    FABULOUS IDEA! Got your email today…and your first entry and musical quote reminded me of the whole reason we ever became friends in the first place (“back in the day”). It was all because of MUSIC!! And I still love music…ALL KINDS…to this day. Thank you for that.
    I’ll try to remember to check in on a semi-regular basis. Good luck!

  8. Kim (Stahl) Acuff says:

    Hi Doug and family! I can’t believe I ran into your blog while doing a search on Google and I couldn’t resist the opportunity to say “Hello.”It’s been a long time since the days at EC — which, as you know, is now EU. Has it been 15/20 years already?! If you haven’t been to Springfield in a while, you’d be amazed at all the changes at Evangel. Only a few barracks left! Took a look at a few of your pictures (you really do look the same– 41? Are you kidding?! and it looks like you’ve been blessed with two great boys. It’s such fun catching up with old friends. Take care and have fun with your blog. By the way, still playing spades?

  9. Doug says:

    Wow! What a surprise to hear from you Kim. It certainly has been a loooong time from the carefree days of K3N and B1S. Those certainly were the days weren’t they? Yes, I married a Kim and have 2 boys, 13 and 10 already. My wife graduated from Willard high and I met her at Cornerstone Church there in Springfield in 1990. We lived in Springfield for ten years then moved to Ohio to be close to my family here. Sounds like you have stayed right there in the land of AG and putt putt eh? I still keep in touch, although not very often, with Kristy and a few other gals from the sister floor. So glad you found the blog and feel free to keep checking in from time to time!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 351 other followers

Blog Topics
Yours Truly
Doug Ausbury

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Goodreads
Quote
The soul takes flight to the world that is invisible, but there arriving, she is sure of bliss.
Plato
