High Five: Great Music Finds (July 2007)

I listen to a lot of music and often run across some great new artists and bands, so here’s my first installment of “High Five: Great Music Finds”.

These artist and bands are guaranteed to not suck. Trust me. Come on. You know you want to.

Mew – Am I Wry

The Living Things – Bom Bom Bom

Brendan Benson – Cold Hands Warm Heart

30 Seconds To Mars – The Kill

The Feeling – Love It When You Call

About

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Posted in Music
6 comments on “High Five: Great Music Finds (July 2007)
  1. Joanna says:

    30 SECONDS TO MARS TOTALLY RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

  2. dorsey says:

    Loves me some bom bom bom…

  3. Matt says:

    It’s funny how music can instantly remind you of a time in your life. Maybe we should just listen to a song for 6 months and be forced to put it away for at least 5 years. It seems to gain strength the longer you DON”T hear it.

    I have a special place in my heart for Brendan Benson – Cold Hands Warm Heart. I saw (and heard) it first in the winter of 2005.

    When I used to work in Hollywood, I would eat lunch at the upstairs balcony of The Universal City Walk overlooking the massive Stratocaster in front of the Hard Rock Cafe. There was a huge jumbo-tron next to the Fender that played this song in regular intervals.

    It’s a melancholy song for perfect moment in my life.

  4. Ausbury says:

    Matt, that is SO true. I have lots of songs like that. Many come to mind if I let it wander a bit. For instance, I just heard Prince’s D.M.S.R. for the first time in years and it took me right back to K3N getting ready for flag football. Remember that?

  5. Kristy...alias KC says:

    The Feeling, Brendon, ane the Mew – excellent. But what’s up with the creepy video on Love it when you call? Yikes.

    DMSR – I remember it well. And all those Brethren… good times.

    And now for a complete diversion… My freind Karyn sent this to me for my birthday today. (Yes…that was a plug for happy birthday wishes my way.) Anyway…enjoy this rendition of Oh Happy Day. It’s a little long…but guaranteed to make you smile.

  6. Ausbury says:

    KC, that Oh Happy Day was, well, uh, very weird. Looks like they have lots of time on their hands over there in Japan.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 351 other followers

Blog Topics
Yours Truly
Doug Ausbury

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Goodreads
Quote
The soul takes flight to the world that is invisible, but there arriving, she is sure of bliss.
Plato
