Muse, Mothers, & Best Song of 2004

museband.jpgIn my music readings, I stumbled onto a new band called Muse. I often use the AllMusic.com site to read a band’s bio and look at their discography. While doing this for Muse, I stumbled onto perhaps the most creative album review I’ve ever read. This review also contains a most fantastic, run-on sentence. I’ll be adding this CD to my collection soon: Muse – Origin of Symmetry

Musicians who lost their mothers at an early age:

John Lennon
Bono
Sinead O’conner
Madonna
Tom Petty
Jimmi Hendrix
John Lennon
Aretha Franklin
… and the list goes on. As I recently heard in the Tom Petty film “Running Down A Dream”, this may be the untold story of Rock and Roll.

By far, my favorite (and I think, the best) song of 2004 is Landed by Ben Folds. Now when traveling by air, songs of choice are in the following order: 1. Leaving On A Jet Plane by Peter Paul & Mary, 2. Jet Airliner by Steve Miller Band, 3. Landed by Ben Folds. And here’s Landed:

About

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Posted in Music
4 comments on “Muse, Mothers, & Best Song of 2004
  1. Hi,

    If I were to begin life again, I would devote it to music. It is the only cheap and unpunished rapture upon earth.

  2. Ausbury says:

    Great comment Versionist.com. How’d you find my blog?

  3. Eric Peterson says:

    Hey Doug-

    I stumbled onto this blog post while using my bosses computer (Matt Long).

    Matt knows this about me, but I am a huge Muse nut. I saw them last year in Mesa, AZ, and they put on the greatest live show I’ve ever seen. And I’ve seen a LOT of live shows (albeit maybe not as many as Matt).

    Origins of Symmetry is good, but both of the albums that came out after that are progressively better, I think. If you end up really liking Origins, I’d recommend picking up Absolution next. It’s the album that got me started on them, and quickly became one of my favorites in my collection. The album after that, Black Holes and Revelations, is their newest and while I feel it’s not as strong as Absolution it has probably one of the coolest songs of all time: Knights of Cydonia.

    Cool blog, dude!
    Eric

  4. Ausbury says:

    Hey Eric! So glad you took the time to comment on my blog. I’m sure Matt is a good Boss. Just for fun, in the office, tell Matt that he got a call from Pete Rawbush. Say it with a straight face and watch his reaction.

    I was going to start with Black Holes for Muse, but am taking you advice and going to start with Absolution. I’ll let you know what I think.

    Do you have copies of Mew’s Frengers and The Glass Handed Kites?

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 351 other subscribers
Blog Topics
Yours Truly
Doug Ausbury

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Goodreads
Quote
The soul takes flight to the world that is invisible, but there arriving, she is sure of bliss.
Plato