Desert Island Albums

In my blog reading, I’ve come across some fellow bloggers who’ve taken the time to list the 10 albums they would want with them on a desert island. It’s a ridiculous notion, really, to contemplate not only landing on a desert island, but remembering to bring your 10 favorite albums.

With my smartypants on, I decided right away that I would pick my 10 favorite box sets, but then decided to make it hard and exclude all box sets and greatest hit compilations. There goes my beloved copy of Slim Whitman’s Greatest Hits.

So if I’m stuck on a desert island, I’m hoping it’s not a deserted desert island. If so, I’d be sitting around playing euchre with Gilligan, John Locke and Brooke Shields (all whom forgot to bring their 10 favorite CDs) and jamming to these classic albums.

What are your 10 desert island discs?

The Age Of Plastic – The Buggles 1-buggles-1980.jpg
90125 – Yes 2-yes-1984.jpg
II – Chicago 3-chicago-1970.jpg
Out Of The Blue – ELO 5-elo-1977.jpg
2112 – Rush 4-rush-1976.jpg
Dark Side Of The Moon – Pink Floyd 6-pinkfloyd-1973.jpg
A Night At The Opera – Queen 7-queen-1974.jpg
The Sweet – Sweet 8-sweet-1973.jpg
Toto – Toto 9-toto-1978.jpg
Asia – Asia 10-asia-1982.jpg

Honorable mention:

Difford & Tilbrook – Difford & Tilbrook 11-difford-1984.jpg
War – U2 12-u2-1983.jpg
Can You Still Feel? – Jason Falkner 13-falkner-1999.jpg
About

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Posted in Music
6 comments on “Desert Island Albums
  1. Jantzen says:

    Haha, that’s funny. If I’m stuck on a desert island, I’d have to trade the albums out for a flare gun, or a short-wave radio.

    Anyhow…..

    That’s hard, and since you did me the honor of excluding best-of’s, I’d have to say:
    1. Never take Friendship Personal-Anberlin
    2.Cities-Anberlin
    3.Fallen-Evanesence
    4.The Ladder-Yes
    5.We Can’t Dance-Genesis
    6.Glass Houses-Billy Joel
    7.Moving Pictures-Rush
    8.The Open Door-Evanesence
    9.Invisible Touch-Genesis
    10.(Whichever Supertramp album has Long Way Home on it.)
    or (your) iPod.

    If I missed any on account of my bad memory, I sincerely apologize.

  2. Matt says:

    The longer I thought, the farther back in time I reached . . .

    1. Never Take Friendship Personal – Anberlin (A family favorite)
    2. Face Value – Phil Collins
    3. Hello, I Must Be Going – Phil Collins
    4. Genesis – Genesis
    5. The Wall – Pink Floyd
    6. Boston – Don’t Look Back
    7. Back in Black – AC/DC
    8. Moving Pictures – Rush
    9. Running in the Family – Level 42
    10. World Machine – Level 42

    Honorable Mention – Songs from the Big Chair – Tears for Fears
    AND
    Street Talk – Steve Perry

    All these mark a very easy-to-define part of my life.

  3. KC says:

    Hey duds ~ (Doug and Matt)

    I was getting ready to buy some Yes 90125 for my ipod. Here’s the question. Would you suggest I “Buy Album” from ITunes, or buy the “expanded” versions instead…there’s even an acapella version of Leave It…what’s your suggestions? Just love that album…great memories attached!

    thanks music mentors ~
    KC

  4. Ausbury says:

    Hey KC,
    That is a classic disc that should be heard exactly how the guys recorded it. I would buy the original 90125 album on Ebay or iTunes then buy the separate mp3 on iTunes of Leave It acapella if you want just for fun (its cool to hear it acapella but doesn’t compare to Trevor Rabin’s genious album version).

  5. […] High Five: Great Music Finds (Sept 2007) 4 10 2007 I thought in this installment of High Five, I would offer up a tribute to my 10 +3 Desert Island discs. […]

  6. The greatest sign of friendship is what KC has done here. He asked a question that gave Doug the opportunity to run down into his basement, activate the secret passageway, and scurry back to the 4-drawer file cabinet marked “Things to say when people ask me about ‘Yes’.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Blog Topics
Yours Truly
Doug Ausbury

Doug Ausbury is an entrepreneur, coffee achiever, baseball addict, aspiring spousal unit, pop music geek and family man. Most of the time, he needs more cowbell...a lot more cowbell.

Goodreads
Quote
The soul takes flight to the world that is invisible, but there arriving, she is sure of bliss.
Plato
